Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-25-2013, 02:11 AM   #1

Non Radioactive M42 Lenses for Spotmatic Family?

Hello,

I am new to Pentax. I am a fan of durable and small classic Nikons - the FM/FE family, as well as the F2 and F3. As I age, I gravitate more to robust classic cameras.

I have always wanted to explore the Spotmatic family and bought a nice Tak 50. It was beautiful and the focus ring was nice, but I discovered that it was radioactive. After some research, I decided that a radioactive lens is not for me, as I handle cameras and lenses for a considerable time in my hands (I make no claims to health issues from using a radioactive Tak - it was a personal decision only and this post is not intended to solicit a debate).

I still wish to explore the Spotmatics. Do I have options with quality non radioactive M42 Pentax or other M42 brands?

06-25-2013, 02:22 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Most sources agree there are only two thoriated Takumars. The 7-element 50/1.4 and the second version 35/2 (49mm filter). The original 8-element Super Takumar 50/1.4 does not have a Thoriated element and the first version 35/2 (67mm filter) shouldn't either.

Camerapedia makes claims about the 55mm and 85mm as well, but they are not as well documented (Unless you consider some guy holding up a cheap Dosimeter to a lens on YouTube documentation).

Radioactive lenses - Camerapedia
06-25-2013, 03:26 AM - 3 Likes   #3
Pentaxian

If you're really worried about that level of radiation, then you should avoid contact with the ground and drinking any fluids such as water.
06-25-2013, 06:45 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by ArticFox Quote
Hello,

I am new to Pentax. I am a fan of durable and small classic Nikons - the FM/FE family, as well as the F2 and F3. As I age, I gravitate more to robust classic cameras.