Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
12-07-2013, 06:29 AM - 2 Likes   #1
Veteran Member

Film blowouts vs Digital Blowouts

For fun, I filmed a very harsh (and mundane) scene with my film and digital cameras.

I think I got all the variables mostly correct, does this sound right?

Cameras:
- Pentax K01
- Pentax Super Program

ISO 400 (same on both)
f/2.8 (same on both)
shutter speeds (same on both)
-.4 (iphone soft spot meter says this was shadows)
- 1/125 (iphone soft meter says this was average from shadows to highlights)
- 1/500 (what the super program suggested)

So obviously the field of view is different so I had to crop but I was kind of surprised at how well the film handled the light. I should also mention that the super program has had a recent Eric CLA so the speeds should be ok.

Anyway I thought this was cool and informative (I only started shooting film this year as I turned 40 thought it would be a fun project)

Last edited by Jamey777; 07-22-2014 at 06:31 AM.
12-07-2013, 06:31 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Original Poster
I suppose I should mention that the film is expired Fuji Superia 400.... I am sure nicer film would have handled the exposures even better. The lens is a K 24mm f 2/8.
12-07-2013, 06:53 AM - 1 Like   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
So the K-01 is on the left and the film camera is on the right?
Yeah, film tends to be superior in some ways.
12-07-2013, 06:54 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
It's harder to blow highlights with film.

But, it's harder to recover something in the shadow with film, because no light = no chemical reaction on the film = no information to recover.

12-07-2013, 07:06 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster
So I think I am starting to understand the maxim "Expose for the shadows, develop for the highlights" :-) I blew out a roll of tri-x shot @1600 because I left it in the soup too long.
12-07-2013, 07:08 AM   #6
Veteran Member