Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-10-2014, 10:12 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
ME Super wind lever loose

Hi everyone, I'd like to preface by saying I'm very new to the field of photography. I picked up an ME Super with manual lenses locally through a craigslist ad, and am very pleased with it so far. I recently installed fresh batteries and was about to load film when I noticed that the rapid wind lever on the top right of the camera is loose, and I've seen in videos that it should have some kind of resistance. Is the camera done for? Can I fix it myself? I was really looking forward to getting to use it

Last edited by cafazucar; 04-07-2014 at 06:58 PM.
01-10-2014, 10:34 AM   #2

Original Poster
Apologies for the double post, but I'm unable to modify the old one. I see now upon further inspection that the mirror is stuck in the up position as well, and the exposure knob is stuck on AUTO. Now I'm really feeling like this thing is unusable do repair shops even work on these old cameras anymore?
01-10-2014, 10:54 AM   #3
Giveaway winner!

Sounds like you encountered a common problem for well used or just very old ME Supers. One thing is that the foam for the mirror must be very gooey and needs replacing. If you are able to free the mirror gently and try to fire the shutter while set to B or 125X and it seems to open the shutter normally prior to possibly getting stuck again, then maybe the foam replacement is all you need.
Certainly, if the mirror is up and then the shutter cycle is not complete and the advancing gear is not engaged.

Worse is the internal bumpers are mush. They are deep enough that getting to them request quite a lot of disassembly. The job is usually best left to a professional... Eric Hendrickson or any repair guy who knows the Pentax issues and has the parts.
01-10-2014, 11:33 AM   #4

Original Poster