Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-01-2014, 12:05 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Coming back to film :)

In my quest for a second body to compliment my K5 I ended up acquiring an *ist film body. I'm excited for many reasons, 1st I almost got this camera new back in 2003 but decided to go digital, 2nd by going digital for so many years I've missed some of the reasons I started shooting to begin with. 3rd I'm really hoping this takes me back to those reasons and gets me thinking and composing my shots more than click check screen, delete try again...so I'm sure I will have a ton of questions on film types and processing etc...Because I know digital has come along way and fewer and fewer places are supporting film...but I'm just still glad to be here.

JJ

03-01-2014, 12:12 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Woohoo! There are still plenty of places that do film. Glad to see you coming back. If you do B&W, the best lab is your bathroom-- it's not hard, and there's a wealth of knowledge and support on here, as well as the dedicated analog forums.

For color, slide film is amazing for landscapes. AgfaPhoto Precisia is rebaged Provia 100f, and can be had for about $6-7 bucks a roll online. Provia 100f printed well will still amaze you side by side to your K-5.

When I made the full time switch back to film, it was after shooting digital and slide film side by side-- I spent hours trying to get the white balance, contrast, and colors dead on with my digital shots. My slides came back, and still looked better.

Good C-41 film still beats the DR of any digital system. Shoot Portra 400, and you can get somewhere in the range of 16-18 stops of dynamic range. Portra 160 is finer grained, and Ektar has great colors.