Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-05-2014, 08:53 PM   #1

New to Film Photography

Hey, so I bought a Pentax ME Super off Ebay, not knowing all too much about them. What little research I did on them made them out to seem like a pretty simple and durable camera. I got it today, and so far it seems to be in all good and working order, however, I had to pry open the back after pulling up the film rewind knob. After examining the back, it doesn't look like the latching mechanism used to open the back works, and theres a little bit of rust on the top of the door. So I'm just curious if this is a common issue with old camera, and how much of an issue it might be. Also, I'm totally new to using film, so any advice on servicing, restoration or maintenance, is very much welcome!

Thanks a bunch!
Ray DeSalvo

03-05-2014, 09:11 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Ray DeSalvo Quote
Hey, so I bought a Pentax ME Super off Ebay, not knowing all too much about them. What little research I did on them made them out to seem like a pretty simple and durable camera. I got it today, and so far it seems to be in all good and working order, however, I had to pry open the back after pulling up the film rewind knob. After examining the back, it doesn't look like the latching mechanism used to open the back works, and theres a little bit of rust on the top of the door. So I'm just curious if this is a common issue with old camera, and how much of an issue it might be. Also, I'm totally new to using film, so any advice on servicing, restoration or maintenance, is very much welcome!

Thanks a bunch!
Ray DeSalvo
It may be a common issue for old cameras that are not taken care of. For example, a $29 bargain condition ME Super from KEH comes with money back guarantee that I am certain would not be rusty. -> http://www.keh.com/camera/Pentax-Manual-Focus-Camera-Bodies/1/sku-PK020107000090?r=FE