Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-19-2014, 09:20 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Film loading/winding/slipping problem k1000

Help!
This is my 3rd or 4th roll of film - and the first one that I loaded without it slipping as soon as i close the back cover. The first 3 just slipped out of the little thingies as soon as i started winding it.
I blame it all on my inexperience.

Then this last one - i loaded it all good and well . Shot 5 frames. then it slipped.
Is there a way for me to save this 30 dollar roll + development? >_<

I have 2 more film rolls to go through, and then thats it. I have decided that there is no advantage to shooting film today.

05-19-2014, 10:04 PM   #2
Pentaxian

I think there are two possibilities. Either you're not loading it properly, perhaps not putting the film in far enough, or there's a problem with your camera. I've been using film for two years and before that was very inexperienced and I've never had this happen to me. Perhaps you could take some digital shots of the inside of the camera & how you load the film and post them here so we can check if it looks ok?

The roll you have might be saved if it's slipped. Re-wind it just leaving the leader outside the canister, then you can open the back and load it again. Close it up and, with the lens cap on so no light gets in (might want to set it at f/22 1/1000s too), shoot your five frames plus another few to be sure you're past the shots you already got.

It's a shame you're having trouble as I feel shooting film and using these old cameras is a very worthwhile thing for any photographer to do.
05-19-2014, 11:38 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Are you inserting the edge of the film into the slit in the take-up spool first? Or are you just laying it down on the sprockets and closing the door? The film needs to be engaged with the take-up spool, else it will slip...
05-20-2014, 12:07 AM   #4
Veteran Member