Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-20-2014, 05:17 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
CR2's or FG grip?

I have an ebay purchased ZX-5/MZ-5 on the way and need to order some batteries for it. As I am looking at options it seems that buying a couple sets of rechargeable CR2's and a charger is a fine way to go... Is this camera going to be a big fast drain on these? (It has typically been taking me a month at minimum to get through a 36-exp roll of film with my ME Super)...

Should I get the FG instead? I've never used a grip before on digital (or film) but don't expect that the extra bulk would be something I'd consider a plus (because I am always packing the film cameras along with my digital gear), unless I am going to get substantially more battery life out of the thing (and need it), or if there is something else to this equation that I am not aware of... Thanks

05-20-2014, 06:54 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

I'd get the grip, and then get a good set of rechargeable AA batteries. It'll pay for itself in the long run. Unless, of course, the cost of the rechargeable CR2's and charger are less than the grip + batteries. You may also want to consider the grip if you have large-ish hands.

I've got both the MZ-M and the MZ-6, and I like them better with the grip, but that's just me.

EDIT: I've left the camera loaded with film for months using Ni-MH batteries, and it was ready to go when I picked it up to use it. I think there were eloops in the camera, but I'm not sure.
05-21-2014, 02:22 PM   #3
Forum Member

I managed to pick up the grip for $US20 a few years ago. With an existing pile of eneloops it made sense. I agree it would be the best approach especially if you can get the grip for the right price...
05-21-2014, 02:59 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Original Poster