Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-02-2008, 08:04 AM   #1

Question about Pentax Film Camera

I am new to digital SLR photography. (I've owed a digital point and shoot for a couple of years and a film SLR for about 35 years.) In January I purchased a Pentax K10D when it went on sale prior to the introduction of the K20D. I really like this camera and am enjoying it greatly. One of the selling points for purchasing a Pentax camera was the statement by the salesman that eventhough Pentax camera changes, the old lens will usually fit on the newer cameras.

So assuming that (1) I don't want to purchase a second digital SLR, (2) I want a back-up/alternative camera for situations where I don't want/have time to change lens, (3) I can pick up a Pentax film SLR camera on E-Bay for a song and (4) that the digital lens I have for my K10D will fit on this film SLR (even if they don't retain full digital functionality.) Does anyone have any suggestions for what type of Pentax film SLR I should look for on E-Bay?

I have a 32 year old, well-used Minolta XE-7 (with some nice lens) that would be almost free to a good home if anyone is interested. But I don't want to lug around two complete camera systems, just to have two cameras. But it seems to me that if I could pick up a cheap used Pentax film SLR, then just carrying around that body and using the digital lens, might make for an inexpensive solution for those rare occurance when I don't have time or don't want to change lens, but do have time to switch cameras.

Or am I, as I frequently am, delusional and coming up with a solution that is far more complicated than required to solve what is essentially a non-existent problem?

EDIT: I posted this on the digital SLR forum because I was hoping that digital SLR users might have better insight on which film SLR cameras would work best with digital lens.

Last edited by ncinpa; 05-02-2008 at 08:14 AM.
05-02-2008, 09:03 AM   #2