Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-19-2014, 12:15 AM   #1

Street portraiture with ME Super - seeking advice

Hi,

I've been reading these forums with much interest for a while now, but this is my first time posting so i hope this thread is in the right place.

I'm an artist working on a photo-book project in Japan. Whilst i think i have a decent eye for composition, i'm not very experienced in the technicalities of photography so i was hoping i might be able to find some help here regarding that.

The book i am working on is about Japanese fashion; clothing, nail art, (manicure and pedicure).

It's a little similar in concept to the popular book "Fruits" - fruits japanese street fashion - Google Search

In the same way, i am looking to shoot full body portraits.

However, i will also be shooting facial portraits (head and shoulders) and relatively close up shots of nail art. Within this i also wish to capture the structure of hands and feet.

I am interested in getting correct perspectives on the portraiture aspect. For example, what kind of lens i might use for the different shots, and best practice in terms of distancing etc.

I will be shooting during all times of the day and at night too. Whilst i prefer not to use the flash in general, i realise it will be necessary so would really appreciate help on this too.

As mentioned, the camera i'm using is the ME Super.

The lenses i currently have are:

Takumar A 28mm 2.8
SMC Pentax M 28mm 2.8
SMC Pentax M 135mm 3.5
Takumar 135mm 2.5
SMC Pentax M 50mm 1.7
Pentax A Zoom 28 - 80mm 3.5 - 4.5

The flash i have is a Pentax AF280 T.

A couple of these lenses are on the way in the post, but i have experimented quite a lot with most of them. Whilst i have made some nice images, i feel a bit lost in trial and error so any advice at all would be sincerely appreciated!

07-19-2014, 12:47 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
short lenses distort features avoid them.