Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-12-2014, 08:16 PM   #1

Ricoh KR-5 Super

Hey everyone,

I'm pretty new to the forum. I've been shooting with a K-r for a few years now and really enjoy it. But I've had a soft spot for film ever since my wife took a photography class and had to develop her own pictures. And then we were looking at some of my grandfather's old projection slides, and a number of other old film photos that just have such a rich quality to them. So I'm considering trying to get some kind of old film camera. And it'd be sweet if I could exchange lenses between it and my K-r. So I went into a local photo shop and asked about film cameras. After I told him I was thinking $100 or less he showed me a Ricoh KR-5 Super and said it would cost around $100. I can't remember what lens it had on it, but I think it was a zoom lens up to 70mm. He showed me a few different ones and I couldn't keep it all straight.

So I guess I thought I'd ask what your opinions are on this camera, and if that would be a good price for it. Or if you could recommend something else for the $100 or less price range. I know there's a wealth of knowledge here and I want to tap in to it

Thanks for any advice!

12-12-2014, 11:21 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi,
Welcome to the Pentax Forums!

That is too high a price for a KR-5 Super. It is a good camera, but market price is about half that, even with the zoom. As for suggestions in K-mount...There are many possibilities. Here are a few I have hands-on experience with, in ascending order by feature set:
  • Pentax K1000
  • Pentax KM
  • Pentax KX, MX
  • Ricoh XR-2, XR-2s
  • Pentax ME Super
  • Ricoh XR7
  • Pentax Super Program