Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-07-2015, 07:48 AM   #1

Questions about Pentax SFX

Hi there.

I have purchased an SFX, and while waiting for the delivery I would like to ask some questions:

First, I'm not a pro photographer at all, only take like 1 or 2 rolls a month, and during vacation, maybe a little bit more. I rarely use builtin flash. Now, the SFX uses 2xCR2 batteries. The question is: at such shutting rate, how much will the batteries last? Lets say, I purchase some chinese CR2s, rather than top-end ones. Also, during nigh or when I don't use the camera, I will remove the batteries.

Second, would it worth purchasing just normal batteries or rechargeable ones, with the charger too? If the CR2s lasts for months, maybe recharging them doesn't worth the money invested. What is your oppinion?

Third, I read somewhere that the SFX had available a battery grip. Is this true? I actually did search internet, but found nothing, maybe I missread?

Fourth, any place to purchase a diopters viewfinder thing (I don't know the exact name), also in Europe? Second hand, of course.

Last question: which second hand, old lens, with AF would be recommended for this camera, in the range 28-70 or 30-80 or similar? Also, I need the most possible apperture, so a f/3.5-4.5 or alike, would be nice. I don't mind Pentax-made or 3rd party made. Also I don't need top-end lenses, so if the brand is Miranda rather than Tokina, it would be ok for me anyway, if the delivered image quality is acceptable. Of course, it must provide AF and full metering. I'm only interested in a lens made during the 90s, maybe early 200x, designed for this camera or similar cameras during that period.