Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-06-2015, 05:33 PM   #1

Pentax MG won't take photos.

Hello. I am a digital photographer who just got a film camera passed down. My Pentax MG seems like its in great shape, but there seems to be a problem.

The camera will not click and take the photo when I press the shutter. I doubt its batteries because the lights come up in the viewfinder. My viewfinder never goes black. Nothing goes on the film because nothing happens. When I opened up the camera and press the buttons and wound it up and everything, nothing inside moves. The mirror is set in the same place. The little hook on the left side does not move. When I push it up, nothing moves. I did not go as far as trying to move the mirror. Also, when I first got it, I noticed the viewfinder has this little rectangular thing in it. It is probably metal. I feel like it is the shutter part that makes the vf go black.

Also, the shutter behind the film barely nudges. Goes up about 1mm when the shutter is depressed. Doesn't work on 100x or bulb. Still nothing happens on auto.

Not sure whats going on.

04-06-2015, 06:06 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Does the shutter work in Bulb mode? No other ideas, sorry.
04-06-2015, 06:29 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Unless it has sentimental value, there are plenty of other pentax film bodies out there. That one seems to run about $10-20 in good working condition on eBay. It was an entry level camera in the early 80s.

If it does have sentimental value, you should probably send it to Eric for repair and refinishing. It'll probably cost a bit under $100.
04-06-2015, 06:35 PM   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It's hard to come across MG or MV bodies in good condition- they must have been real workhorses back in the day.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)