Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-08-2008, 11:51 AM   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by ve2vfd Quote
Do you seriously get a better quality and resolution with a SLR slide/negative copy lens attachment than with a scanner with a slide scanner on it?

Pat
It's equipment dependent. My scanner images were poorer - but it's a cheap scanner vs a much more expensive lens/slide holder setup.

06-08-2008, 11:56 AM   #17
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Hmmm thats pretty interesting!

Pat
06-08-2008, 01:14 PM   #18
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Gooshin Quote
and i'm not a post processing god, but i do know that information is what counts. Mike seems to be surprised how i cannot be content with a 1meg jpeg if i ever wanted to do some post processing.
I neither explicitly stated nor intimated any such thing.

You apparently missed the point about the "pieces of string" analogy. It can take a zillion small pieces.....or just one piece if it is long enough. So to ask whether a photo/negative scan can have as much information as a 10mb RAW file displays a lack of understanding that scans can be of various sizes/resolutions.

Is English your first language?
06-08-2008, 01:38 PM   #19
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by KungPOW Quote
Here are some examples for what its worth. No they were not done in laboritory conditions.

At 400 ISO, the K10D kicks butt on the film. At the low quality scan, the film grain, and the digital resolution are very close. The high quality scan, the film grain is far greater then the digital resolution.

I get my scans done at the same place that develops my film. I am not yet developing and scanning my own, but it is in the plans to do so. The big problem I have with the guys that do the scanning is dust. Some scans have ALLOT of specks.

I think we are discussing the merits of a scanner vs. a camera for copying film.

06-08-2008, 03:32 PM   #20