Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-04-2015, 03:24 AM - 1 Like   #16
Veteran Member

Another +1 for the 5N! The FA Limited lenses are supposedly brilliant but as a poor student I've never even held one, let alone used one. The F35-70 is a great lens if you want something cheaper though, a proper 'stack of primes' that works great with colour and black and white.

I actually tend to use my M and A series prime lenses on the 5N because of its aperture-ring compatibility, since I almost always use Av mode. When using DA35 on it I twiddle the shutter speed dial to get the aperture that I want. I think you'll find the conventional dials on this camera really useful - it's the reason I bought it over the other MZ/ZX models and it just makes everything so much simpler than fiddling with buttons.

One other thing: The AF is fast fast fast. I have a couple of 90s equivalent-level Nikon bodies (F801s and F80) and this blows them into the weeds.

06-04-2015, 04:17 AM - 1 Like   #17
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by edmundrt Quote
Another +1 for the 5N!.
I only got rid of mine several years after getting a GX-10/K10D because it just was not getting any more use. One of the UK forum members bought it (for a pittance of £30 or so!) and I trust he is still enjoying it!

PS: Anyone still want a pristine boxed data back for one of these, which was bought for a specific job but never actually used?
06-05-2015, 04:21 PM - 1 Like   #18
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I have tried various MZ/ZX models as well as a PZ-1P.
All of the AF SLRs I have tried have been a disappointment, some more than others.
None is as simple to use nor feels as good in hand as a classic manual focus SLR.
And of course none is a Spotmatic.

My eyesight isn't getting better as I age. One day I may need focus confirmation.
For this I own an MZ-3 with MZ/ZX-M manual focus screen installed (and upgraded motor).
I also have a fully functional ME-F.

Chris