Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-25-2015, 09:19 AM   #1

a little MX meditation

hello everyone,

my debut here. there many threads dedicated to this model, still i was tempted to compile my feelings into another one..

i've been using film exclusively, mostly slr-s for more than 20 years. i'm not a collector but with many of you i share appreciation for precious mechanics and optics. it has very little to do with photography, but i felt like a little fondling and few clicks with empty leica M3 a day could have some healing properties.. preferring slr-s, obsessed with 'workhorse' attribute, fearing mechanical failure in the terrain, i went mostly with nikons, obviously inspired with history (which is of course not absolute relevant measure). so i have F3,FM,FE, monstrous F4.. and yes, they've never put me down.

but there was a little worn black MX and 3.5/35 K in my possession that, despite using it just a little compared to nikons, i've felt something special towards. it was a magical small package with a feel of fullness, minimalistic and balanced design.. plus those old negatives shot with the lens.. so 'cultivated' sharpness and rich tonality..

combined with finally 'knowing what i really need and don't need' i've ended up with 3 MX bodies, 3.5/35K and 1.8/55K. (ok, there's one 28 sunagor somewhere that i hardly use). i'd wish this to be my only gear and for the first time i feel i'm able to get rid of nikon stuff, but..

again, the reliability. yes, MXs feel wonderful, but that doesn't equal real surviving capabilities. i still don't know how much i can trust them. despite many great reviews, here are my few concerns, based on bugs on my own cameras, as well as seen on the web over and over :