Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-27-2015, 02:12 AM   #1

Astrophotography help!

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I'm looking to do some astrophotography with my Pentax MX, would anyone be able to advise me which T Ring I would need for this model?

(such as this TS-Optics T-Ring for Pentax K SLR and DSLR cameras: Amazon.co.uk: Camera & Photo )

I'm not very good with technical stuff! Thanks

06-27-2015, 08:12 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
For an MX you will ned a T Ring (strictly: A T2-Ring) for Pentax K, usually labelled "P/K". But what kind of optics will you be using?
06-27-2015, 08:15 AM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Fotodiox-Mount-Adapter-Pentax-Camera/dp/B002BFKO2G/r...7ZKZSS2K61F6JN
Here is an amazon link to the one I have. I have it fixed to my field flatener so for me its like mounting a small lens that I then place in the telescope.
07-13-2015, 02:21 AM   #4

Original Poster
I'm very much a beginner with all of this and I'm not looking to take professional standard photos obviously but for anything to come out at all would be great!

I am using this telescope http://www.amazon.co.uk/Celestron-21041-PowerSeeker-60-Telescope/dp/B0002CTZAC
And have ordered this adapter http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0000665V6/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_2?ie=UTF8&...A3P5ROKL5A1OLE (is it the right thing)
Is the T ring the only thing left to get?

Do you have any other tips for taking analogue photographs through a telescope?

Thanks for your help so far guys

08-02-2015, 12:29 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
For film astro, shoot Acros.

The reciprocity failure is minimal - I think it's a half a stop beyond a few minutes.