Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-07-2015, 06:51 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Film Processing

Hello everyone. I am new to film and am looking for help processing film. I am using Ilford BW 3200 film, but would like to try other types of color and bw film.

I don't know if my walmart/walgreens/cvs photo labs are good for processing film. Would you say to use these kinds of labs or should I send them off in the mail to a professional lab. Where should I send my film?

I am in the USA so any local lab would be great!

10-07-2015, 07:12 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
You can check here to see if there are any Harman Local Darkrooms near your location:
Welcome to Local Dark Room by HARMAN technology Limited
10-07-2015, 07:36 AM   #3
Pentaxian

The word is that Walmart, if they process film at all, does not return the negatives. They send a medium-low resolution scan on CD.

None of the one hour photo processors will do true B & W film at all. If they process color print film, they can process the chromogenic B & W, which uses standard C41 processing.

There are only two ways to process true B & W film: do it yourself (its easy), or find a brick and mortar camera store that can/will do it for you. None of the drugstore/discount stores can do it.
10-07-2015, 07:36 AM   #4
Pentaxian

I have a local pro lab, here in Iowa City Iowa. Maybe you have one where you live. Giving USA as a location is pretty broad.

Also, Dwaynes Photo is one of the best mail order labs left standing. I recommend them.

10-07-2015, 07:43 AM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter

You can mail it in to The Darkroom or to BlueMoon, both online.
10-07-2015, 08:25 AM   #6
Pentaxian

Original Poster
I just found these guys! Digital Scans and Developing is $8.00!!!! Store Locations |
10-07-2015, 08:37 AM   #7
Pentaxian