Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
11-28-2015, 04:27 AM   #1

Beattie Intenscreen and AF for (P)Z-1(p)

I wonder whether I can improve the viewfinder experience in my Pentax (P)Z-1p by installing an "Intenscreen" focussing screen w/ split-image focus aid. I have found an unsold Intenscreen in a shop nearby, and actual price is very, very tempting (just a tad fraction of what it used to be). I have no experience with these products, so I'd appreciate your help.

The screen I look I for is one w/ split image, see:
Pentax 35mm Beattie Intenscreens
Designed for Z-1.

I assume that the screens in Z-1 and Z-1p are interchangeable, same size. Perhaps, a tad brighter in the Z-1p for what I read. I guess then that the one from Beattie will be ok in my Z-1p though it will yield a wee less gain of brightness.

How about the split-image? Will it interfere with the autofocus?

Cheers

11-28-2015, 04:53 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by vrolok Quote
How about the split-image? Will it interfere with the autofocus?
No. The autofocus is totally independent of the finder image. However, it will probably interfere with spot metering.
11-28-2015, 09:19 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by wkraus Quote
No. The autofocus is totally independent of the finder image. However, it will probably interfere with spot metering.
Fixed
11-28-2015, 10:34 AM   #4

Original Poster
Ok thanks. Will give it a try and report back...

11-28-2015, 11:08 AM - 1 Like   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Ok thanks. Will give it a try and report back...
I wouldn't do it if I were you - You can buy a MZ-M for just few dollars and the screen from there will be a perfect fit for your Z1p. I know because I am using one. Shimming was not even required .

AF is matching the MF perfectly since then and I know that from extensive testing. If exposure differs I am yet to notice than in real life photos.