Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
12-02-2015, 06:27 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Suggest a 3rd b&w film developer to me

I've been developing film for about 8 months now - I started with DD-X and had some great luck with it. I then bought some Rodinal and have loved it with Rollei 80s and RPX 25, and had some luck with other films with it. I find the discussions on developers get esoteric, but I think I'm ready to try a 3rd developer, something that will play nice will give nice smooth results. I really love rodinal for slower films, but I think it would be fun to have a 3rd dev to try, I was wondering what you guys and gals think I should try next!

12-02-2015, 06:30 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
HC-110, particularly if you are shooting with RR 80s.

Steve
12-02-2015, 07:33 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Finding the right developer all depends on what films you are shooting and where are your expectations on speed, grain, contrast or tonality, and price. DD-X is a wonderful developer, but I've found it works best with Ilford Delta, whereas ID-11 is my favorite with HP5, FP4 and even Pan-F. Years ago I switched from D76 to Xtol for Tri-X, and for Tmax films, Tmax developer is a must.

What are your shooting? Do you employ the Zone System, or do you just want a balanced negative to print?
12-02-2015, 07:47 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Back n the 1960s in college our standard for available light work was Tri-X exposed at 1000 or 1200 and processed in Acufine. That was the normal EI for the film in Acufine. When shooting often you reuse the qt of developer, adding enough Acufine replenisher to keep the volume the same. That was usually about 1/2 oz per roll of film, so the quart did a lot of film. I really liked the results, and found that Acufine is still available. I'd recommend trying it.