Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-20-2015, 01:55 AM   #1

Help buying my first film camera

Hello,

I'm buying my first slr film camera, I have never used it before. I guess Pentax K1000 is good for beginner, what do you think? How to choose camera while buying online? how to choose film for camera?

PLEASE HELP

Thanks

12-20-2015, 03:06 AM - 2 Likes   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
The Pentax K1000 is the classic camera that a generation of photographers first used often in school. It is a very simple manual focus, manual exposure camera but very reliable. It's good to learn with a manual everything camera so that when you may eventually upgrade to more automation, you'll have a better understanding of what is being compromised for convenience or speed.

Buying online from a reputable source like KEH, B&Hphotovideo, of Adorama gives you some assurance that the camera has been tested and inspected. Buying from individuals is more problematic and hopefully there is some rating system that you can check on to see their reliability. If you're lucky enough to live close to a film camera store, then they will usually have a selection of used cameras.

IF you have access to a darkroom and were going to develop the film yourself, usually an ISO 400 black and white film like Kodak Tri-X or Ilford HP5+ is a good film to start with. If you have access to a photo lab that develops film and prints or scans them, then again, I'd suggest starting with an ISO 400 color negative print film. Kodak and Fujifilm are the two most popular. Each film has its own tonal response, color rendition, etc, so this is always a decision for the photographer balancing needs for the right price, quality, availability and ISO.
12-20-2015, 06:52 AM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
What about KX or MX? I have MX myself and I like it. only downside may be a more difficult setting the shutter speed,