Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-03-2016, 04:27 PM   #1

Information about the Pentax MX

Hi everyone,

So I'm very new on the Pentax scene, with little knowledge but a lot of passion (hence the username 'Pentaxstudent' - though, to be fair, I am also a university student). I've been very fortunate to get my hands on a Japanese made K1000, a black KX and silver K2, all of which I love dearly however, there is such a buzz around the internet on the Pentax MX that I'm wondering about adding it to the team. Now, this isn't a mission to discover what camera is better or what features does it have over the ones I have, but a fact finding mission. So a few questions:

1) Where was the mx actually made?
2) Some of them have the 'asahi co. japan' stamped on the back whilst others do not - is this because some were made in Japan and others were not? (Like the K1000)
3) I'm hankering after a black mx to match the black kx (I'm sad I know...) though I also run off a student budget and I'm based in the UK. What sort of money am I looking at for one? I've seen such a range of prices on the internet I don't know whats faithful.
4) apart from colour, was there any real difference between the two mx models of black and silver?

I hope this works - I've never used a forum before so heres to a new experience!

Pentaxstudent

03-03-2016, 05:32 PM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi, and welcome!

Compared to the K1000 the MX had a much shorter production run and they were all made in Japan.

The black and silver versions are identical as for specifications.

Check the market place here on the forum and the review database for prices that real people paid.
03-03-2016, 05:34 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I can answer question four - to the best of my knowledge, the answer is no.

My advice to you is to get the MX if you want the functions, and not worry too much about the colour.