Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-13-2008, 07:37 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
MZ-7 mini review / first thoughts

I wanted to share my first impressions of the Pentax MZ-7 / ZX-7.

I have been considering a modern Pentax SLR for a while. What I would love is the MZ-S. But I'm not a pro earning any money from photography, and can't justify the high cost of that lovely camera. The MZ-7 is available now for peanuts, and delivers most of the functionality I want in a modern AF camera. Having had a chance to play with it, I can say that the MZ-7 is like the film equivalent of my *ist DL digital SLR.

By davidwscott at 2008-07-13

When considering the MZ-7, there wasn't a lot of information about it. I think most MZ-7s were purchased and forgotten by their owners as the tide of digital cameras washed in. As a result there are a lot of like-new MZ-7s out there waiting to be put into service.

Here are the salient features which I like:
  • Quality of construction - feels better/more substantial than the bottom of the line MZ-M
  • Full manual control, including on-body control of FAJ lenses
  • Availability of a few auto-modes, easily available from a single dial
  • Exposure lock
  • Exposure compensation
  • TTL flash control
  • Readily available/inexpensive batteries
  • Low-light focus assist (strobing the flash)

The MZ-7 matches the style of the rest of the MZ line, and is a plastic-fantastic camera. The build quality seems improved however. Compared to the MZ-M, the plastic looks and feels better. The grip is also looks and feels better with a full molded rubber grip for the right hand. The fit of the parts seems tighter, and loading film in the camera inspires confidence. The film takeup assembly and pressure plate are well built, and the rear door seems to have less flex than in the MZ-M.