Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-08-2020, 04:45 AM   #31

I'm totally new to these lenses, so a big thank you Eric and Steve for putting up with my panic and getting back to me!

I did a little more research and ended up finding about the interlock pin which did the trick! Thank you both for explaining it.

I've read that you need to move from auto to manual to use some adapters (mine will be manual), so I'm all good now.

Can't wait to try it out - it looks like an amazing little lens. I've very excited!

03-09-2020, 07:44 AM - 1 Like   #32
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I rather enjoy using those, and other similar vintage screw mount lenses in manual mode on a dslr, but it is confusing to people now who never saw how the "auto" feature in their name worked on a film camera of their era. It was something "auto" that didn't actually need batteries to work!
03-09-2020, 01:08 PM - 1 Like   #33
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Well, there's always a downside
if your lens in in Manual (lever over M) you can focus easily (more light) but you'll need to move to Auto to take the picture
if your lens is in Auto (lever over A) you can use aperture priority setting but the image might be too dim for manual focusing

PS. It seems I had it backwards... M is when the M/Manual is visible and A/Auto when that is visible
So this should be:
if your lens in in Auto (Auto/A showing) you can focus easily (more light) but you'll need to move the pin to be pushed to take the picture or move the lever to M
if your lens is in Manual (Manual/M showing) you can use aperture priority setting but the image might be too dim for manual focusing

QuoteOriginally posted by TheBee Quote
I'm totally new to these lenses, so a big thank you Eric and Steve for putting up with my panic and getting back to me!

I did a little more research and ended up finding about the interlock pin which did the trick! Thank you both for explaining it.