Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 8 Likes Search this Thread
05-09-2017, 12:23 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Should I buy a k1000?

Hi, Team,

I'm new to the Pentax family. I just built a Pentax 6x7 outfit and I've caught the film bug. At first I thought I was going to fly right over 35mm from digital to medium format. But I see a Pentax k1000 (including 50mm f/2) with a Canonet QL17 on Craigslist for a total of $75.

Providing that the lenses and cameras are free from major issues, this should be a no-brainer, right?

I already have a Canon Rebel film camera that is newer. I haven't looked at it in awhile, and I've never used it. It probably was made in the 90's. I'm sure its an OK camera, but it doesn't inspire me. The k1000 has the mojo - and the QL17 does to a certain extent as well.

So should I buy these?

My lens environment includes a range of Canon APS-C and full-frame options. I also have a good kit for my 67. Will I want to try and use any of these lenses across bodies? I suspect not.

Besides, right now I think I may just use the k1000 with the 50mm f/2, or possibly buy the 50mm f/1.4 and 28mm f/2.8. I'd really like to use it for a compact street and travel camera. I don't think I will do any serious portraiture, landscapes, or wildlife photography with the k1000. My other cameras cover those areas very well.

I know this is a well-loved 35mm camera. Is there any downside to going this route? Thanks for your thoughts!

05-09-2017, 01:14 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I've never used or held a 6x7, so I don't know what it has or doesn't have, but here's what you're missing out on with the K1000:

Self timer
Mirror lock up
Depth of field preview
Off switch (the light meter is running whenever the lenscap is off; too much of this can drain your batteries in a hurry).

It's your call whether any of this matters TO YOU. I am merely putting it out there.