Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-18-2017, 06:26 AM   #1

First film camera

Being born in digital era I want to try some film photography.

I have access to some very basic 35mm cameras (viewfinder P&S) but I was wondering if there is a point buying something more sophisticated.
If anything I would go for Pentax as I already have selection of lenses and other accessories.

There is Pentax MZ-S + grip + remote release cable (no box though) for circa 200 pounds available in friendly store.
Or plenty of other MZ series cameras on eBay for less than 50 pounds

Any advice? Is MZ-S worth 200 pounds in 2017?

05-18-2017, 06:43 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Sorry I have no experience with autofocus Pentax bodies but welcome aboard, enjoy the experience and good luck!
05-18-2017, 06:59 AM   #3
Veteran Member

The MZ-S is worth £200 today - it was the flagship of the MZ range. The other MZs were good too - personally I like the MZ-6. All MZs feel rather plasticky, so if this would put you off then that is something to think about.
Be aware that the MZ series has one common fault, which is a plastic gear in the mirror mechanism which can break. I have owned four MZ series bodies (10, 50, 5 and 6) and only the 50 suffered this failure, the others are still going strong.
If you need autofocus, the earlier Z series are also good - the Z-1p is the 'daddy' of Pentax film cameras, a proper professional-grade beast with a 1/8000s shutter, 1/250s flash sync and every customisable function you can think of. The Z-20 and Z-50 are not as full featured, but still good little cameras and available for next to nothing.

tl;dr if you have the money for that MZ-S, I'm sure you'll enjoy it. If you decide to look around, there's plenty of choice. Happy Pentaxing!
05-18-2017, 08:11 AM   #4

Original Poster
Does ist suffer from this plastic cog issue?

05-18-2017, 09:41 AM   #5
Veteran Member