Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-19-2017, 03:25 AM   #1

Dark Negatives

Hey guys and girls, I had a bit of a issue on the last role of film I developed, it's the second time I'm using this film, Eastman Double-X, first time I used it at 400iso, everything went fine, this last time at 200iso, and this last time the negatives got very dark, I'm very new to this, so would like some guidance, to help me understand and diagnose the cause.
The shots were taken with a Spotmatic F, between a Zenitar 1.7 50mm, and a SMC 3.5 135mm, I could think that it was my error when taking the shots, but I always exposed to the shadows, and even if that was the case in some of the photos, it wouldn't be in all, and I'm getting consistent dark negatives from all the role.
For scan I used the k1, assembled in a little jig I did, used Pixel Shift, and after seeing the results tried bracketing and HDR, the results were the almost the same has just Pixel Shift.
With my little experience I feel the problem was in the development stage, I followed a recipe from Digitaltruth Photo - Film Photography, Darkroom Supplies & Resources , Rodinal 1+60 20C 7min, followed it very precisely, temps were on the spot and so was time.
What I did diferente, I used the stirring rod from the Patterson tank instead of the normal (to me), rotation/inversion, during the first minute, after that I closed the tank and procede has normal, 10 sec rotation/inversion each minute.
I do the film to reel switch, with a dark bag, that I don't trust to much, no double isolation on the arm, so I do it, with the dark bag inside my dark toilette, not totally isolated but pretty close, my idea is just to minimize any problem the bag may have, and so far have been fine.

Negatives sooc, edges trimmed, and direct inversion

Attached Images

View Picture EXIF
HUAWEI VNS-L31  Photo 
05-19-2017, 03:45 AM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums