Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-19-2017, 02:28 PM   #1

Pentax P30 film loading issues

Hey there,

I'm new to film camera's, and got my dad's old Pentax P30 which he found recently, and I was interested in getting into it for sure.

Now the trouble I'm running into when loading the film, is that it won't catch onto the sprocket teeth properly without me applying pressure, and once it's on the spool teeth, when I try to advance the film so it's ready for use, the spool doesn't rotate whatsoever.

This is very annoying, as I do not exactly know what's wrong with the advancing system, and I'm sure as heck that it's not normal for the film not to properly hold onto the teeth of both the sprocket and the spool..

If anyone has tips regarding my issue, I'd love to hear them.

Attached Images

05-19-2017, 03:29 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What you're supposed to do with these cameras is draw the leader across till its end is somewhere within that red bar you see on the bottom of the takeup spool. Then close the film back. Then wind on. If you see the film rewind knob rotating anticlockwise as you do so, everything's fine; go ahead and shoot.
05-19-2017, 03:32 PM   #3

Original Poster
I tried that, but it's not properly locking onto the spool as far as I'm concerned.

---------- Post added 05-19-17 at 03:37 PM ----------

Just did it again, and it's rotating like it should, time to hope for the best!
05-19-2017, 10:11 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

A strange aspect of these easy load cameras is if you try to do something to help it load it will fail.

05-20-2017, 12:41 AM   #5
Pentaxian