Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
07-29-2017, 07:16 PM   #1

Film finished early?

Hi,

I am new to using a Pentax K1000, along with film photography in general. I had just finished up using my roll of 24 exp Fujifilm color. However, I had noticed that the counter did not read 24 at the end, and instead read along the lines of 20-21 (Cannot recall what number exact at this time). Is it possible that the camera can skip an exposure or did I perhaps put the film in the incorrect way? I am sure it is a beginner's mistake, but any feedback or suggestions would be nicely appreciated.

07-29-2017, 07:35 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I'm thinking you fed lots of leader and/or advanced/released the shutter a few times more than necessary when you loaded it and did the initial wind on to the take up sprocket, and all this before shutting the back on the camera. Does this sound possible?
07-29-2017, 07:44 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by clickclick Quote
I'm thinking you fed lots of leader and/or advanced/released the shutter a few times more than necessary when you loaded it and did the initial wind on to the take up sprocket, and all this before shutting the back on the camera. Does this sound possible?
It definietly is. Stupid me loaded the cassette in upside down during the first attempt. After attempting to advance the film a couple of times while noticing that the mechanism was not working correctly, I readjusted it. It's very possible that some of the exposures were already out when this happened and I fed in some of the excess during the second try.
07-29-2017, 07:56 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I've noticed getting "extra" exposures on some cameras -- it's all in how little film you expose when loading the camera.

07-29-2017, 08:48 PM   #5
Veteran Member