Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
08-23-2017, 03:02 AM   #1

Pentax MX film advance, not on spool?

Hi

I'm new to film photography and have started using a Pentax MX, which has been fully serviced.

The first film I ran through the camera came out blank. I'm 99% sure that I was being too gentle with it and hadn't loaded the film onto the spool properly and it hadn't wound on.

Someone more familiar with film cameras loaded the 2nd film for me and they were confident it was on the spool properly. However, I know they didn't use the rewind knob to take up the slack in the film. I'm now half way through the film and noticed that the rewind knob was only turning a couple of mm when I advanced the film. I hadn't even though to check this as I shot the first 15 shots!

I suspect again that the film may not have been loaded properly and I have now tensioned the film with the rewind knob and this now turns completely when I advance the film. My questions are;

- Am I right in assuming it's very unlikely the film wasn't loaded properly as the rewind knob was only moving a couple of mm when I advanced the film?
- Having tensioned the film I think I'm now properly on the spool and the film is advancing. The counter is now already showing 15 shots taken. However, assuming I still now have 34+ exposures to shoot, can I continue to shoot even when the counter hits 36...i.e. until the film is actually used up? or will this damage the exposure counter mechanism?
- The MX has lots of white ribs to load the leader into. I just want to check, should I be loading the leader into the left side or right side of the spool? Are there any other MX film loading techniques I should be aware of?

Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance for your help.

Russell

08-23-2017, 03:46 AM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by RustyT Quote