Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-30-2008, 02:02 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
New photography student help

Hello, this is my first post and first thread on pentaxforums.com. First off I would like to say that I love this site! Ive learned alot about dslr especially the pentax k20d. But the reason I am starting this thread is because I am a newly enrolled photo 1 (basic photography) and photo 52 (history of photographs) student at my college. I am very new to cameras, im the person that once thought taking a picture with a crapy point and shoot camera was good enough. Obviously I was wrong. The teacher told us via email, to bring in a camera to our next class meeting. I dont care for any other brand of cameras, I just want a 35mm film Pentax. My mom told me many stories of how durable and great pentax cameras are. And of course, mother knows best Of course I just dont want to use the camera just for class, I would like to have a camera that is feature packed so I could slowly grow with it. Maybe taking it when I travel and stuff. My teacher specified that

"This non-laboratory course is an introduction to photography including camera techniques and artistic considerations. Using 35mm format and natural light, students shoot digitally or with slide films for specific assignments emphasizing exposure, depth-of-field, composition, and image quality. A 35mm Single Lens Reflex camera (film or digital) with manual focus and exposure capabilities is required."

This is what im confused at. I want a film camera, but have never developed film, will they teach me how? and the teacher said (film or digital) I thought everyone started off with film? The reason I cant ask him or her is cause Ive never met the teacher since I missed the first day of class, caused by transportation issues.