Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-05-2018, 07:25 AM   #1
Forum Member

Benefits to Film Era Cameras?

Hello there.

I've been a hobbyist for a few years now. I'm in my 20s and have only played around with digital cameras. A friend of mine is looking to sell off his Pentax Super Program and a slew of accessories and lenses for pretty cheap. I'm wondering if it is worth it. This is not so much about the gear itself but era the products came from. Are there benefits/lessons to gained from playing around with a film era camera when you're only experience is digital? I was excited by the prospect of learning something new (to me) and the fact I could acquire several old lens and accessories that could work with my K3-II. Just wanted to get some insight since many people here have doing this far longer than I have.

Thanks in advance for any insight you may have to offer!

04-05-2018, 07:53 AM - 8 Likes   #2
Veteran Member

While many will go on and on debating the merits of the film image compared to a digital image, and vice versa, I find the main enjoyment I get out of shooting film is the actual shooting experience. Digital brought us that little screen on the back, which we feel compelled to consult after every few shots. Since the cameras can be adjusted for ISO, white balance, colour profile, etc, etc, we feel compelled to keep changing, changing, changing our settings.
With film, you load up the camera with the emulsion of your choice, and you've got 24 or 36 shots to make the most of it - and you won't know how successful you were until it's developed. That commitment to those 24 or 36 shots, and the anticipation of the results is what keeps film relevant for many shooters.
04-05-2018, 07:57 AM - 3 Likes   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Here are at least four benefits of film: