Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-09-2018, 09:45 AM   #1

ME Super wind lever problems

Hi all,
I just bought an ME Super that seems in excellent condition, except the wind lever doesn't block after pulling the next frame into position. This means I could theoretically pull a whole roll of film through without firing the shutter once.
Any tips on how to repair this would be much appreciated.

04-09-2018, 01:40 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Well I'm no expert but could the rewind button be stuck in by some chance? I seem to remember it exhibits this sort of behaviour if rewind button is pressed.
Also does the photo counter increment?
04-09-2018, 03:21 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
If the camera is operating normally, pushing the rewind button will allow the shutter to be cocked, but the film will not advance. This procedure is used for multiple exposures. However once the shutter is cocked the advance lever should not let you advance any further until the shutter is released.

Sounds like the camera could do with a service.
04-09-2018, 09:57 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

This happens to old ME series. Sometimes it is mirror box levers needing lubricating. Sometimes the problem is some sticky parts. If the mirror box doesn't cock, the wind lever won't stop.

04-10-2018, 03:14 AM   #5

Original Poster
Thanks for the help.
The rewind button is not stuck in, and the frame counter goes up every time the lever is cocked, even if the shutter isn't fired.
After messing around with it for a bit I found that after cocking the lever, if I lightly press on the shutter release button without firing the shutter, it then locks the wind lever like it should. I can only assume that there is a lever inside that is a bit stiff and not moving int place until prompted by the shutter release button.
Does that make sense?