Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-08-2018, 07:19 PM - 4 Likes   #1

New to film. What next after Pentax ME?

Hi all,

I’m new to film and to this forum. Had only shot digital until I was given a Pentax ME as a gift by a relative recently. It came with the M 50mm f/1.7. I got a M 40mm f/2.8 on ebay for it too. I’m really enjoying shooting film so far, and it’s been a humbling learning experience, haha. It’s not inconceivable I’d look for another pentax film slr in the near future.

Ideally I’d want a compact form factor, so not much heavier than the ME. Would be nice to get exposure compensation in fractional steps, and more importantly a more substantial build quality. Reading this forum has led me to the LX as a likely candidate. Does that sound reasonable? Any other pentax models you think I should be looking at?

Btw, really liking the 40mm pancake. I was hesitant given the somewhat lukewarm reviews here, but I have been pleased by its results. To be fair, I dont pixel peep or anything like that. The form factor itself makes it a great pairing to the ME. Here are a few photos I took on my inaugural use of the camera and lens on a trip to California.

Cheers,
Ed

Attached Images

05-08-2018, 07:40 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Nice work!

I've found the ME to be a bit limiting since it's auto-only. However, that's also its charm; you can concentrate on composition and your subject as well as looking for the next shot. That said, I prefer the MX. Haven't tried an LX. At that price point, I chose to go medium format instead.

Another variable in film photography is the film itself. Film photographers have to deal with GAS (Gear Acquisition Syndrome) as well as FAS (Film Acquisition Syndrome).
05-08-2018, 08:00 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Welcome to the forum and great job with the ME.