Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-21-2018, 11:00 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Auto 110 with modern film?

Has anyone here tried using modern film in an Auto 110? By which I mean loading your own film into a 110 cartridge. The Lomo film seems to be pretty crappy, even expired Kodak seems better, but has anyone has tried something like Portra or Ektar?

05-22-2018, 03:09 AM   #2
pid
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
How can you do that? Can you show? Would like to do that too.
05-22-2018, 06:20 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What do you mean the Lomo film seems crappy? From what I understand, Lomo is basically getting whitelabeled film from Kodak.
05-22-2018, 07:36 AM   #4
Veteran Member

I only ever shot 110 in a cheap snapshot camera, before I graduated to 35mm. But I always understood the reason 110 was never taken super seriously was that film flatness was always an issue. Having film guided through the cartridge via plastic slots was never going to be as precise as a camera with a full-fledged pressure plate.

Having experimented later with true sub-minature cameras, like the Minolta 16 and Minox, which do have pressure plates keeping the bare film flatter, having super sharp film is only a small part of the battle. Issues with focus, careful exposure, and just trying to keep those super light cameras held firmly during exposure, were all hassles.

05-22-2018, 09:00 AM   #5
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by leekil Quote
Has anyone here tried using modern film in an Auto 110? By which I mean loading your own film into a 110 cartridge. The Lomo film seems to be pretty crappy, even expired Kodak seems better, but has anyone has tried something like Portra or Ektar?
Can you post your results from Lomo film? I suspect what you're seeing might either be the upper limit of the 110 format or something going on with your camera.
05-22-2018, 09:24 AM   #6
Otis Memorial Pentaxian