Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-30-2018, 04:03 PM   #1

ME Super not rewinding?

Hey guys,

I took my new ME Super with me on my holidays, first time shooting with it after replacing the light seals, didn't have time to shoot a test roll unfortunately. After finishing the roll I started rewinding but felt almost no pressure/tension at all, the tension was there only for 4 or 5 seconds and then it was gone, I know how the tension "feels" cause I shot a couple times with a Canon AE-1 (even though im a newbie), but this time it felt completely different. I kept rewinding for a minute or more just in case but still nothing.

Now i went to the toilet in complete darkness and opened the back door, when i touched the back, the film was all the way back in the canister... What's going on? Being honest loading the film was a bit of a pain with this camera, it has this weird and extremely annoying white plastic which makes it really hard for a newbie to load, but after trying for a minute or so i managed to load it "properly" i guess, i shot 3 or 4 times just to make sure the film was loaded and advancing well and it was. The film roll was a 36 portra 400 and after shooting 33/34 times i couldnt shoot anymore which i guess means the roll was actually finished? I dont really know if the counter goes any higher than 36, you guys tell me

I had some really nice and meaningful pics from Moscow and a good friend of mine in this roll, I hope i didn't **** up

TL;DR : Loaded the film well, shot a few times just to make sure it was advancing. When rewinding I didn't feel much tension, I only felt it for 4 or 5 seconds ( but i kept going). Opened the back door in the dark and the film was all the way back in the canister.

Last edited by MarkJerling; 10-30-2018 at 04:31 PM.
10-30-2018, 04:40 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Most likely, the film was not properly loaded from the beginning.
10-30-2018, 05:01 PM   #3
Site Supporter