Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 15 Likes Search this Thread
11-08-2018, 07:50 PM   #1

What’s the Pentax version of the Canon AE-1?

I started my photography shooting Canon DSLR. Along the way I branched out to film and naturally picked up an AE-1 secondhand. Recently I graduated to medium format and bought myself a Pentax 6x7 which I love. That’s when I discovered the fantastic Asahi glass. I want to get a Pentax SLR to add to my collection so I can start dabbling more with Asahi glass but I have no idea where to start in finding a camera body. I’ve done some research online and it’s all a bit confusing trying to figure out where each camera stands. It may be a silly question so please don’t crucify me for asking, but is there a Pentax 35mm camera that is just like the AE-1 in terms of ease of use and features? The K1000 was recommended but someone told me the light meter is always working until you place the lens cap on but I don’t want to bother with putting the cap on and taking it off just to save the battery. Any other suggestions? Thanks

11-08-2018, 07:59 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'd place it with the Super A both in rough time of introduction (Late-70s to Early-80s) and features.
Pentax Super A / Super Program - Pentax Manual Focus Film SLRs - Pentax Camera Reviews and Specifications
11-08-2018, 08:18 PM - 4 Likes   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

The K2 is also a good choice. I started photography (SLR) with a Canon AE-1P. I’m not sure how many Pentax film cameras I have now, but my K2 seems to be very similar. The K1000 is a dependable camera, but I like to shoot aperture priority sometimes which it can’t do. For smaller size with the options you are looking for, the “super” versions are good choices, ME super, Super A or the Program Plus.
11-08-2018, 08:25 PM   #4
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Medium4Matt Quote
Any other suggestions? Thanks