Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-10-2019, 02:20 PM   #16
Pentaxian

Thermometer, hanging clips, various measuring cylinders, wetting agent, hypo wash, archive sleeves, funnels and storage bottles to name a few additional things you might want to develop your own. Rodinal at 1+100 is also a very common dilution to control contrast on long-toe films.

01-11-2019, 02:13 PM - 1 Like   #17
Veteran Member

Sorry, beginner here so please excuse my ignorance. I have similar goals to the OP, getting into developing B&W and scanning negatives. To just "wade" in with little investment in case I decide it's not for me, my plan had been to try developing with Cinestill Monobath. One product, no mixing. It's been on sale for 16.99 which some say can do 15+ rolls. I'm not promoting the product and have only seen online reviews and Youtube clips, but it seems easy enough and cheap enough to give it a try. My Dad's got an old stainless developing tank and reel I can use so all I'd need is a dark bag and some minor items like thermometer, funnel etc. I thought of getting an Ebay Epson V500 scanner but thought to start I would rig up a contraption to "scan" my negative with my DSLR. The idea being that I could view the images to decide what looks good enough to print, then have the local photo lab make prints off my actual negative if I get some good shots.

Any thoughts on why this is a good or bad plan?

Thanks,
01-11-2019, 05:26 PM   #18
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Lhorn Quote
To just "wade" in with little investment in case I decide it's not for me, my plan had been to try developing with Cinestill Monobath.

Any thoughts on why this is a good or bad plan?
Welcome aboard!

Thanks for the heads up but it does sound too good to be true especially since they use magical and foolproof in the description . . .

However, if it works then it seems worthwhile trying it.