Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-03-2019, 10:40 AM - 12 Likes   #1
Pentaxian

I love film

Let me preface this and say that while I'm old enough to remember people using film, I grew up using digital. My first "real" camera was a Sony DSC-H20, a great point and shoot with decent manual controls for the time. Then years later I got myself the K-01 as my first IL camera and began my journey into "serious" photography.

Since then I've been trying to learn and experience new things with photography. So at the end of last year I saw a posting for a dark room class, where you develop your own film, do contact printing and other fun stuff I've had no experience with. So a few weeks ago I finally started the course and have been having a blast developing and printing in the dark room. It's amazing to me that while the methods are completely different, you can do very similar things in the dark room as you can in lightroom, albeit with more trial and error. But those differences really opened up my mind and allow me to think in a different way when shooting.

However the best part for me wasn't even the class, it came with just shooting film itself. I had owned a film camera for a while now, I bought a rather nice condition Yashica electro years back that I had shot a couple rolls through but the film was really expired and heavily magenta shifted so I don't think I really enjoyed it all too much. But this time around a couple forum goers here had gifted me their unused film cameras this Christmas (you know who you are! Thank you so much!). It was a Pentax ME and a black Spotmatic. These cameras really changed my perspective on everything when it came to shooting film.