Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 14 Likes Search this Thread
04-18-2019, 11:45 AM   #16
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Since the OP is using a film camera, Lightroom isn't necessarily an option. A polariser is worth trying, as is shooting early in the day before the haze really builds up. The light is more interesting then too! Shooting directly after rainfall can also give clearer conditions, as long as it's not too humid.

04-18-2019, 12:28 PM   #17
Man With A Camera
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: The Great Pacific Northwet, in the Land Between Canada and Mexico
Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by sh4r1f Quote
Hi all,

Complete newbie to the world of photography. Recently bought my first camera (Spotmatic F) and started shooting. I noticed that on quite a few of my photos (see below for examples), that there is a haze on distant landscapes. I've shot these shots on a SMC Takumar 55mm f1.8 lens, with lens hood and skylight filter attached.

I was under the impression the skylight filter would reduce this effect. Is there something else I can do to reduce it further, or do I just need to replace the filter with a different one? Alternatively, is there something I'm doing or not doing with my photos themselves that has them coming out like this?

Thanks!
As others have mentioned, using a polarizer should help some.

I'm surprised no one has commented that the images look a bit over exposed. Try underexposing a stop or so.

Also, it looks like the shots were taken at midday. Try shooting either early morning, or late afternoon, early evening. The light is better then, and not so harsh.
04-18-2019, 12:33 PM - 3 Likes   #18
Veteran Member

If you are adamant that you wish to shoot film and follow a fully analogue workflow through to final print then for this type of condition a polariser may well help. Probably should limit use to non wide angle lenses here due to uneven affect that can occur