Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
04-23-2019, 08:19 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Help me choose please.

So I have come up with a personal dilemma and I find myself wondering which camera to use...

I have been shooting with digital Pentax SLR's for a few years now and during that time I have collected a few Pentax film SLR cameras.

I have decided to buy 3 rolls of film (Fujifilm Superia Premium ISO400, 36 shots) because I want to do some film photgraphy for the first time since I was about 10 years old shooting with a very cheap camera from a show bag.

I really should thank whoever sold me the show bag as it got me interested in photgraphy - just took me around 30 or so years to follow up with that desire lol.

I now have a Pentax Z-10, a Pentax MZ-60, a Pentax ES and a k1000 (which I cant really use until I get the sensor cleaned). Apart from the k1000, the cameras are in awesome condition.

I would like to know people's opinions before I use my film in any of the cameras. Is it worth having the k1000 cleaned to use it first? Are the others worth using seeing that they are in good working condition?

I have been trying to decide now for about a week and am getting anxious to use the film.

Any/all advice is welcome and thanks for your time reading and responding.

04-23-2019, 08:46 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

To be honest, if you’ve never shot any of these cameras, your first roll in any of the cameras may be a test roll to make sure it all works. The ES is a 50 year old camera, the K1000 could be as old as 40 years old. The other two are newer, but may not be as well built. (Well, many of the MZ cameras are notorious for a dying mirror gear.) I assume you have compatible lenses for each camera. If it were me, I’d dive in headfirst with the ES, but if you’re not all-in on the old way of doing things, it may feel ‘old’ coming from a dslr.
04-23-2019, 09:58 PM   #3
Veteran Member