Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-13-2008, 10:56 PM   #1
Forum Member

Help! Perhaps a really stupid question.

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to photography and even newer to film cameras. I got a ME super that I really like using. But I seem to be having a problem with it.

I'm using it currently with a M 50 and a M 28. Both of those lenses work fine with my K100D, but on the film camera, when i twist the aperture ring, nothing happens. I look through the lens and the aperture hasn't changed size. I get the feeling I've been doing nothing much shooting at wide open. Is it supposed to be this way and the aperture changes when I press the shutter?

Thanks!
Al

10-13-2008, 11:02 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Nothing wrong, the MESuper does not have Depth of field preview as far as i rememebr.
You'll see through the lens as wide open all the time, but the camera will close the aperture when you shoot.

You can try as follows:
- Set f number to 16 or 22
- Set speed to 1s
- Looking at the lens trigger the shutter and the blades of the diaphragm should close.
10-13-2008, 11:10 PM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
Ahhh!

Thanks so much for the help. That did ease my mind and I feel like I can really go out there and take pics again haha.

Question though, how would i know if I'm over or under exposing if the metering is always according to wide open? Is it one of those things where you kinda develop a feel?
10-14-2008, 12:29 AM   #4

The camera will automatically calculate the light difference from wide open to your set aperture and set the time accordingly. No need to worry about it.

Of course, you still need a feel for when the light meter is going to be wrong.

10-14-2008, 01:02 AM   #5
Inactive Account