Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 39 Likes Search this Thread
11-08-2019, 09:06 PM   #31

Photos: Gallery
Original Poster
I myself dont think film is outdated thats all I shoot and I have been a photo hobbyist for about 24 years.

FRITO

11-08-2019, 09:31 PM   #32
Veteran Member

Still bust out my OM-1 from time to time. Mostly for B&W. Cost is a little bit annoying, but I still enjoy the process of capturing on analog, and the often "unrefined" results
11-08-2019, 10:02 PM   #33

Original Poster
Wow glad to see there are a lot of film shooters left in the world hope to learn some things from all of you.

FRITO
11-08-2019, 10:02 PM   #34
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I shot film -- all BW, Tri-X in Rodinal, in my own darkroom -- for years until one day in 2005 I bought a digital body (a 20d) to go on my Canon lenses. That was the end of that for film, though I have never gotten rid of my film equipment because I delude myself that I'm going to start shooting with it again, soon.

11-08-2019, 10:18 PM - 2 Likes   #35
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Bob 256 Quote
Practically speaking, film is going to become a commodity in the not too distant future since demand for film has tanked with the advent of digital photography, particularly that available in everyone's phone these days. I'm a pragmatist in that I see film manufactures scaling back because of those falling sales, so my move to digital was partially one of realizing film would increase in cost and become less available (not to mention the availability of developing).
You're a few years behind -- film usage has increased in recent years. Kodak sold 30% more film in 2019 than 2018. Film tanked about 10 years or so ago, but then it got revived by Lomography (more or less) and now there are a good number of people shooting it.
11-08-2019, 10:29 PM   #36
Veteran Member

Yeah, film use is actually on the rise.
11-09-2019, 01:14 AM   #37
Site Supporter