Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-09-2008, 07:17 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Need help: Spotmatic F light meter problem

Hey all,

I sort of need some help from experienced Spotmatic F users... I'm worried something is wrong with mine. I'm a novice analog/Spot F user.

So:
- Recently started using an old Spot F camera with SMC Takumar 1:1.4/50 : everything worked fine, but I never used the stop-metering lever: always had it switched down, didn't really know what it did.
- I purchased some nice extra M42 lenses, a Tamron and a Panagor, knowing I'd probably have to use stop-metering (I read that non-Takumar lenses require that), but I'm not sure why).
- When I used the new lenses (meter lever to up), the light meter gage went a bit crazy: when I aim at a brighter light source the meter responds well, but when I aim at a darker area, the gage sort of goes crazy, sometimes moving the opposite way then supposed to when increasing/decreasing aperture or shutter speed. Sometimes it doesn't at all react to changing the shutter speed. I then noticed it freaks out in the stop-meter mode using the Takumar as well.

I was hoping it's just the battery that need replacing, but I'm worried I bought the wrong lenses or the camera.

So as I see it, there's a couple of options:
- The battery needs replacement. (I hope it's as simple as this.)
- I don't quite understand the stop-metering function yet.
- Something went wrong when I used the new lenses... Could I've broken something? Or was something wrong with it all along?

Oh, I tried both Manual and Auto settings on the lenses themselves.

Can anyone please help me? I really like the camera and just bought the lenses, so I'd hate to find out I could have better spent that money on another camera.

Thanks for the attention and I hope you can help me.

Last edited by Spottie; 11-10-2008 at 06:04 AM.
11-09-2008, 07:28 PM - 1 Like   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums