Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-22-2020, 06:13 PM   #16
dms
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Steve, as you said "The reason why I so strongly suggested MC is because most of the reputable brands are." But I was suggesting: if looking to buy used older filters, they were often single coated, and thus may be quite inexpensive now. If money is not an issue, certainly multi coated are best. But looking to try out several filters, including circular PL, going the new multicoated route may be (off the cuff guess) $200-$300 for (about) half dozen filters of the smaller 52 or 49mm diameter.

11-22-2020, 06:56 PM - 1 Like   #17
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Brinno Quote
Hi all,

I’m a bit of a newbie to film. Which filters do you think is good to have for film?

Would you get any if the balancing ones like The cooling 80A and 82A Or the warming ones like a KR3?

I want to get yellow for b&w and also Uv, polarisers and a ND.

Should I get UVs for every lense?
I agree with your choices of yellow for B&W, a polarizer and an ND or a set of them.

Considering scanning and post-processing, I would not bother with color correction filters. The only time I used them was when I was a pro on film sets and would have tungsten balanced lights but shooting daylight balanced film or the opposite.

The only other lens I'd recommend is a graduated neutral density filter for landscapes, sunrise, or sunsets.

A UV for every lens is wise, but a waste of money if:
a) You're shooting indoors or at night.
b) You already have another filter on the lens (don't double stack!).
c) You buy mediocre UV filters without quality multicoatings.
d) You are not accident prone or won't be shooting near salt or water spray or dusty places.

I've used UV filters for years, but now I prefer a good lens hood instead in most situations.
11-22-2020, 08:19 PM - 1 Like   #18
Site Supporter
Site Supporter