Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
11-22-2020, 06:49 AM   #1

Filter advice

Hi all,

I’m a bit of a newbie to film. Which filters do you think is good to have for film?

Would you get any if the balancing ones like The cooling 80A and 82A Or the warming ones like a KR3?

I want to get yellow for b&w and also Uv, polarisers and a ND.

Should I get UVs for every lense?

Love some advice.
Thanks

11-22-2020, 06:55 AM   #2
Banned

I think polarizing filters are #1 and then depending on where you are and what time of day etc. perhaps a warming filter. I used to have UVs on my old K and M lenses but I no longer use them. Maybe if you are shooting where there is blowing sand or dirt but if you are careful in regards to handling, I think it is just adding unnecessary image degradation. I found they did very little "UV" filtering.
11-22-2020, 07:20 AM   #3
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'm glad you specified FILM

as many advise against filters with digital cameras with the exception of polarizers

I was taught it was cheaper to replace a filter than fix a lens so I often use a " protective " filter ( UV ) until I am actually taking photos with my digital cameras

you might want to read this article:

QuoteQuote:
Polarizing Filter Basics
An article explaining the photographic uses and effects of a polarizer
By bdery in Articles and Tips on Jul 14, 2014

The polarizing filter is one of the most commonly used lens filters among photographers. There is a good reason for this: this type of filter can enhance photos in many ways. When used correctly, a polarizer will reduce or eliminate glare from reflective surfaces such as glass and water. It can deepen the color of the sky and the overall color saturation in an image, especially outdoors, can also be significantly improved.