Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-12-2021, 10:34 AM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Spotmatic F flash problem

I picked up a Spotmatic F off eBay as "used" and of course there were many problems but with a little cleaning and lube it working fine, except for the flash...both the hot shoe and the PC socket. I changed the camera top with a cleaner SPF I had and that didn't fix it. Also I cleaned the hot shoe contacts inside and outside. I don't know how the flash is triggered or if the pc socket is in series with the hotshot or wired separately. I suspect the issue is at the source of the flash. I looked in the base but didn't see anything resembling flash contacts. Any ideas?

04-12-2021, 11:35 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by tonyzoc Quote
I changed the camera top with a cleaner SPF I had and that didn't fix it
I'm no Spotmatic expert, but ... Is the hot shoe not attached to/part of the top? In which case, there should be some kind of wire from the body to the hot shoe that you would have had to dislodge/remove.

or if the pc socket is in series with the hotshot
Seems VERY unlikely they are in series - you would need something (flash + ??) attached to both in order for the flash to work - no matter to which it! was connected! Parallel perhaps.
04-12-2021, 11:54 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by AstroDave Quote
I'm no Spotmatic expert, but ... Is the hot shoe not attached to/part of the top? In which case, there should be some kind of wire from the body to the hot shoe that you would have had to dislodge/remove.

Seems VERY unlikely they are in series - you would need something (flash + ??) attached to both in order for the flash to work - no matter to which it! was connected! Parallel perhaps.