Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
06-16-2021, 02:13 AM   #1
Veteran Member

New Acquisitions: Pentax S1a & Pentax ME!

Just thought I would share some news (that's exciting for me) and solicit some advice.

I'm based in England, and I've been scouring the 'e-Bay' for good deals on Pentax 35mm equipment over the past several months. I put in two offers over the past couple of weeks expecting only 1 to come through, but they both did (thereby testing my wallet).

I acquired a circa-1962 Pentax S1a body that came with three lenses—a Soligor 135mm, a Hanumar 28mm and the typical Super-Takumar 55mm f2. After getting the camera home, I've determined that the shutter only seems to be firing at one speed no matter where the position of the dial is, but I have very little background in camera repair and I haven't pursued a fix just yet.

My questions about this little S1a bundle for the forum are:
  • How dangerous is the radioactivity of the Super-Takumar 55mm f2 lens with Thorium lens coatings? Should I keep it and use it, or sell it off?
    • I have a newborn at home, and we live in a 2-bedroom apartment, so at the moment, I have the lens hidden away in the closet.
    • I'm inclined to sell off this lens because of the potential health risks, but I also know that the lens has a great reputation.
  • Are there any simple repair procedures I could try to rejuvenate this S1a camera body myself, or would I be better off sending it to a professional technician?
    • I don't have heaps of expendable income at the moment, so I'm inclined to tinker a little bit myself.
    • In terms of repair skill, I have worked a bit on disassembling, cleaning and reassembling lenses over the past 6 months, and I feel confident in those abilities, but I haven't tinkered with SLR bodies yet.