Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-16-2008, 08:30 PM   #1
Site Supporter

ZX-30 mirror lockup

Hello guys, this is my first time in this forum, i am looking for some help with a pentax ZX-30 camera i just bought secondhand. The unit looks good cosmetically, just light scruffs here and there, but overall not bad. But here's the problem,
I CAN'T GET THE MIRROR TO COME DOWN!! argh, its been driving me nuts, i read somewhere the mirror lock up is a feature of newer cameras to prevent excessive vibrations when the shutter is opened at like 1/15th or 1/8 or something. I dont care either ways, i just want the mirror to come down, i can't see anything in the viewfinder. The batteries i bought are fresh, two CR2 energizer batteries. I need some help please?

12-17-2008, 07:08 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
First: Welcome to the forum.

Second: This post should go in the SLR section, but I guess here its OK.

Third: It seem you may be suffering the "sticky mirror syndrome". It happens to most SLR's (all brands) that are several years old. There is a black thick foam frame that dampens the mirror slap when it goes up. This foam frame is surrounding the focusing screen. Within some years and depending on storage conditions, this foam becomes sticky to a point that it holds the mirror up when shutter is actuated. Try to pull back the mirror, gently and "feel" how sticky is this foam. If mirror does not want to go down, DO NOT force it. It mey be something else.

The solution, if this is your case, is to replace that foam frame. Of course, by knowledgable hands.

Good luck
12-17-2008, 07:35 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Original Poster
the foam feels fine, not sticky or anything, is there a button somewhere i can push along with the shutter release button that can cause the mirror to unlock itself?
12-17-2008, 01:15 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by blackbirdoor Quote