Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-30-2012, 07:29 AM   #7036
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by womble Quote
Pentax ESII, Kodak Ektar 100, not sure which S-M-C Tak, either the 50/1.4 or the 28/3.5.

Sunset over Lake McConaughy, Nebraska.

K.
I recently started shooting some film which I really enjoy and what got me to get back into it were some photos I saw on flickr taken with Kodak Ektar 100, so I bought a few rolls. Let me tell you, my shots are horrible compared to what I was hoping for. The colors are mostly dull where I expected them to be bright and I'm wondering if part of my problem is that I'm dropping the film off at a local CVS (pharmacy) to get developed? I don't have any experience developing my own photos and maybe their cookie cutter machine just won't produce great results? I should grab some of the photos and post them here to show what I mean. The camera I was using was either a P30 or ZX-7 and the lenses I was using was anywhere from my Pentax-M 35mm or Pentax-M 50mm f/1.4 or my FA 100mm macro. I don't think any of these are really poor lenses, but maybe I'm wrong?

05-30-2012, 07:37 AM   #7037
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by kcobain1992 Quote
Oh come on, you're picky! These are all nice photos, scans pretty decent too. I love the second one.
What camera?
These were taken on a P30. The smaller size here looks ok, but zooming in the scans are really, really over-sharpened. I suppose I didn't decide to try 35mm film for the IQ.
05-30-2012, 01:31 PM   #7038
Pentaxian

As I have said elsewhere I have always got good results from Ektar 100 but I do send it to an expensive "pro" lab. I get the impression from what I have read on the web (that wonderful source of boundless misinformation) that Ektar is fussy about development and your disappointing results may well be poor developing or possibly poor scanning.