Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-06-2007, 02:40 PM   #1
Forum Member

Super Program question

I've been a K-1000 guy since I graduated high school (I think in the dark ages) ... recently bought another K-1000 for my daughter who is in art school. While talking film cameras recently, my father said he had a "Pentax Super Program" and lenses in storage, and would gladly give them away. I jumped at the offer, and loaded it with film (after downloading a manual and skimming it), and set off to shoot and see. I found that in all three auto modes (speed priority, aperture priority, or both on auto), everything seemed fine. When I put all in manual, the camera told me I was way underexposing my pictures, and when it finally said I had the right light, I was down to an 1/8 of a second in a wooded daylight setting with 400 film. I knew this was not correct, and then set the camera to Auto aperture, and speed, and looked into the screen for the setting it was using, and it said 1/125 sec and f5.6 . I manually set these settings (1/125th, and f5.6) and this seems to have been correct. Has anyone experienced this, and could possibly help with a diagnosis. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Bruce

04-06-2007, 03:18 PM   #2
clm

What aperture were you in at 1/8 second? From your description, it sounds like you may have left it on A, which is stopped down all the way. You should adjust both shutter speed and aperture to get correct exposure.
So what lenses came with the camera? Anything good?
04-06-2007, 03:43 PM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
A Promaster 70-210 telephoto zoom 1:3.8, and a Chinar 28mm 1:2.8 I really don't know much about either, I've used the Telephoto, but not the 28mm yet.
04-07-2007, 07:40 PM   #4